HCBS Transition Period and Meetings

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) issued a final rule for home and community based services (HCBS) effective March 17, 2014. All states must meet new requirements for home and community based settings for individuals who are served by a CMS-approved HCBS waiver program. In Kansas, there are seven HCBS waivers:

Autism (child who starts services before age 6)

Frail Elderly (65+ years)

Physical Disability (16-64 years)

Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities (5+ years)

Technology Assisted (0 through 21 years)

Traumatic Brain Injury (16-64 years)

Serious Emotional Disturbance (0-18 years)

CMS expects all states to develop a Transition Plan for each waiver that provides assessment, strategies, and timelines for meeting with the new rules. The Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services would like your comments on this Transition Plan before it is submitted to CMS.  Click here for a schedule of very important meetings with KDADS to discuss HCBS settings. (article attached) Click here to take a survey about your HCBS setting